Mandatory Upgrade to Panopto 5.4 on July 21

 

On July 21, we will require Panopto for Windows, Remote Recorders, and Panopto for Mac to be upgraded to version 5.4 or above.

Important note: This change will also deprecate support for Mac OS X 10.9 and earlier. OS X 10.10, which is still supported, was made available in October 2014 as a free update from Apple. Any users still on OS X 10.9 or earlier will need to update their operating system to continue to use Panopto for Mac.

 

When will this change be applied to my Panopto site?
Friday, July 21, 2017 at 5pm PDT / 8pm EDT / 12am GMT.

 

Why are you requiring these upgrades?
Panopto 5.4 includes important bug fixes for our Windows, Remote Recorder, and Mac clients. These fixes prevent data loss in certain circumstances.

 

What will my users see after this change has been applied?
Users on prior versions of our client apps will be prompted to upgrade when they run Panopto for Windows or Panopto for Mac. Users will need to download and install the latest version of the app. See instructions for details on Windows and Mac.

 

Panopto for Windows upgrade prompt
Windows upgrade prompt.

 

Panopto for Mac Upgrade prompt
Mac upgrade prompt.

 

Users will be unable to upload new recordings until they have upgraded.

How should I upgrade my Remote Recorders?
Follow these instructions to install the latest version of the Panopto Remote Recorder.

 

Can I start upgrading now?
Yes. By starting the upgrade soon, you’ll be able to complete the process before older versions of the recorder are blocked from connecting on July 21st.

For any questions, please contact Panopto Support online at support.panopto.com, or via phone at 855-PANOPTO (855-726-6786), option 1 (North American customers) and +44 203 137 7056 (EMEA customers). You can also email us at support@panopto.com.

Last modified: June 30, 2017