Center for Neuroscience Initiative fosters neuroscience-related research & graduate education


1st Annual Center for Neuroscience Symposium & Retreat

Date: February 28, 2020 
Location: Auburn Hotel & Conference Center

Time Event
8:00 – 8:45 am Continental Breakfast
Poster Setup
8:45 – 9:00 am Welcome and Opening Remarks
Dr. James “Jim” Weyhenmeyer
Vice President for Research & Economic Development
Dr. Vishnu Suppiramaniam 
Dr. Miranda Reed
Directors, CNSi
9:00 – 9:45 am Opening Doors to the World of Neuroscience at CNSi: Continuing New Ideas, Ingenuity, & Intellectual Inquiry

Ben Bahr, PhD
William C. Friday Distinguished Professor of Molecular Biology & Biochemistry, UNC
Oliver Max Gardner Award 
Governor James E. Holshouser Award for Excellence in Public Service
9:45 – 10:30 am Allosteric Modulation of Glutamate Receptors

Stephen F. Traynelis, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology and Chemical Biology, Emory
Awarded the Hodgkin-Huxley-Katz Prize from the Physiological Society
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow
The Faculty of 1000
10:30 – 10:45 am Mid-morning Break
10:45 – 11:30 am A New Target for Epilepsy and Other Inflammatory Diseases
Raymond J. Dingledine, PhD
Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Chemical Biology, Emory University
Director, Center for Neuroinflammation Therapeutics
National Academy of Medicine, Member
11:30 – 12:15 pm Therapeutics Effects of the Psychedelic 5-HT2A Receptor Agonist Psilocybin
Matthew W. Johnson, PhD
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, John Hopkins
Founding Director, Center for Psychedelic and Consciousness Research, Johns Hopkins
12:15 – 1:30 pm Lunch and Poster Presentations: (Presenters need to be at their posters by 12:30 pm)
1:45 – 2:15 pm NIH/NIA Grant Opportunities
Shahrooz Vahedi, PhD 
Training Officer (Health Science Administrator), DEA, NIA/NIH
2:15 – 3:00 pm Regional and Sex Differences in Memory Encoding Mechanisms
Christine Gall, PhD
Professor, Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology, School of Medicine, UC Irvine
Chair, Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology, School of Medicine, UC Irvine
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
3:00 – 3:15 pm Networking Break
3:15 – 4:00 pm NMDA Receptor Splicing in Hippocampal Plasticity and Learning
Michael Salter, MD, PhD, FRSC
Professor, Department of Physiology, University of Toronto
Chief of Research, The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids), Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Founding Director of the University of Toronto Centre for the Study of Pain
E.B. Eastburn Award
John Charles Polyani Prize in Physiology or Medicine
Distinguished Career Investigator Award of the Canadian Pain Society
4:00 – 4:45 pm Forgetful Mice: What Have They Taught Us About Alzheimer’s Disease?
Karen Hsiao Ashe, MD, PhD
Professor, Department of Neurology, University of Minnesota
Founding Director, N. Bud Grossman Center for Memory Research and Care
Edmund Wallace and Anne Marie Tulloch Chairs in Neurology and Neuroscience

National Academy of Medicine, Member
Alzheimer’s Association Lifetime Achievement Award (2010)
4:45 – 5:00 pm Closing Remarks
Dr. Vishnu Suppiramaniam 
Dr. Miranda Reed
Directors, CNSi
5:30 – 6:30 pm Reception & Networking
6:30 – 8:30 pm Banquet & Award Announcements
Rocket Motors, Stephen Hawking, & Drug Development

Walt Woltosz
Two-time Auburn aerospace engineering alumnus
Founder, Simulations Plus Inc. 
Woltosz’s Equalizer and EZ Keys programs that allowed world-renowned astrophysicist Stephen Hawking to continue his groundbreaking work.
Filmmaker (writer/director/producer) with a completed full-length feature that won nominations for Best Director and Best Picture at the Orlando Film Festival

Last modified: February 26, 2020