Auburn and Alabama Take It To The Ice

The Auburn Tigers and the Alabama Frozen Tide face off this weekend  in the 2nd annual Iron Cup in Columbus, GA. The Iron Cup is a 3 game series which take the rivalry of Auburn and Alabama to the ice. The team that wins best 2 out of 3 will be awarded the Iron Cup. Last year, the series was played in Pelham, AL at the Frozen Tide’s home rink the Pelham Civic Complex. This year it will be played on the Tiger’s home ice at the Columbus Ice Rink. The Frozen Tide won all 3 games last year in decisive victories against the first year Auburn team. However this year, with more experience and new talent, the Auburn Tigers will be a better match against the six-year Tide team.

So far this season, the Auburn Tigers have a record of 3 wins out of 11 games, while the Frozen Tide has a record of 8 wins out of 17 games. The Tigers will be coming off of two losses against the Ole Miss Rebels and the Georgia Ice Dawgs in the College Clash that happened on Nov. 18-19. The Tide will be facing the Tigers after a 3-2 win against Virginia Tech in the Tornado Disaster Relief Game held on Nov. 19. Both of these teams will be sure to provide an exhilarating match-up over the weekend.

Game 1 will take place Friday, December 2 at 7:45 pm CST (8:45 pm ET), game 2 will be at 4 pm CST (5 pm ET) on Saturday, December 3, and game 3 will be at 12 pm CST (1 pm ET) on Sunday, December 4. Tickets will be sold at the door. The prices for these games will be $5 for adults, $4 for students with their ID’s, and kids 8 and under are free. For Saturday’s game, the Tigers will be hosting a special Military Appreciation Night. Auburn has invited 200 military personnel to attend the game for free through the Gameday for Heroes organization. The Tigers will also be providing them with a commemorative Military Appreciation Night t-shirt. For more information about Gameday for Heroes, visit their website.

Be sure to come out and support your Auburn Tigers this weekend in this thrilling rivalry against the Frozen Tide!

Links to the facebook events can be found here, here, and here.