SFWS Welcomes New and Returning Students at Fall Ice Breaker

Fall IceBreaker - Eckardt

Last evening SFWS Student Services sponsored its annual Fall Ice Breaker at the Mary Olive Thomas Demonstration Forest. The students enjoyed a cookout, lawn games and the opportunity to meet SFWS Dean, Dr. Janaki Alavalapati and Associate Deans of Research and Academic Affairs, Drs. Graeme Lockaby and Scott Enebak; as well as many other faculty and staff who came to welcome new and returning students.

Have a great year all! We are proud to have you with the SFWS!

The Westervelt Company Hosts Alumni Luncheon to Introduce SFWS Dean Alavalapati


IMG_2073The Westervelt Company recently hosted a luncheon to introduce the School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences, Dean Alavalapati to their alumni executives and employees. Shown here next to Westervelt’s first paper machine, are Brian Via, SFWS faculty member; Westervelt’s Vice President of Natural Resources, Jim King; Dean Alavalapati; and Brandon Loomis, an Army veteran and recipient of the Vick Fellowship. Brandon is a graduate student with Auburn’s Master of Natural Resources-Professional Forester degree in the School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences and was recently featured within the AU Student Spotlight. Read more about Brandon at http://develop.auburn.edu/…/student-spotlight-brandon-loom…/

Thank you, Westervelt Company for your support and hospitality!

Sustainability Picnic Rescheduled for Wednesday, August 26 at 4:00 p.m.



Visit with SFWS faculty and staff to learn more about the Auburn University School of Forestry and Wildlife’s Natural Resources Management major and minor degree programs at the Sustainability Picnic, rescheduled for Wednesday, August 26, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. at the Davis Arboretum.

SFWS to Host Its Annual Homecoming Barbeque

Homecoming BBQ Invite

Homecoming BBQ Invite

The School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences will host its annual Homecoming Barbeque on Saturday, October 3, 2015.

Students, parents, alumni and donors are invited to join Dean Alavalapati, faculty and staff for this game day tradition to be held at the A. Kent Van Cleave Pavilion three hours prior to kickoff.

Former SFWS Graduate Student Receives National Award

KBanger Tian Graduation

 KBanger Tian Graduation


Kamaljit Banger, a former Auburn University School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences PhD candidate with the International Center for Climate and Global Change Research (ICCGCR), was recently chosen as Outstanding Graduate Student by the Ecological Society of America, Asian Ecological Section. He was presented this prestigious national award at the 100th annual meeting of Ecological Society of America, held in Baltimore, Maryland, August 10-14, 2015.

Established in 1915, the Ecological Society of America (ESA) is the world’s largest organization of professional ecologists which exists to promote and raise awareness of the importance of ecological science, while increasing availability of resources to conduct science, and to ensure the appropriate use of science in environmental decision making. The ESA’s Asian Ecology Section created the graduate student award to promote the recognition of young ecologists who contribute substantially to Asian ecological research development.

At Auburn University, Banger applied process-based modeling approaches to investigate how multiple environmental alterations especially changing climate, rising carbon dioxide concentration, air pollution, and land management can affect terrestrial biogeochemical cycles in tropical Asia.

According to the ESA award nomination, “By combining the remote sensing datasets from an Indian satellite (Resourcesat-1) with several inventory land use records, he generated the land use and land cover data for India during 1880–2010. He also contributed significantly to the Ecosystem Dynamic and Global Change Ecology Laboratory’s (EDGE) effort to couple phosphorus with carbon, nitrogen, and hydrological cycles in the modeling framework of the Dynamic Land Ecosystem Model.”

Banger’s research advisor, Solon and Martha Dixon Professor and Director of the ICCGCR, Dr. Hanqin Tian states, “To the best of my knowledge, Kamaljit Banger’s work is the first to examine impacts of multiple global environmental changes on terrestrial net primary production and greenhouse gas emissions in India. During his tenure with the PhD program in the School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences at Auburn University, Kamaljit authored or co-authored 12 peer-reviewed research articles published in prestigious journals such as Global Change Biology, Climatic Change, Global Biogeochemical Cycles, and Soil Science Society of America Journal.” Tian further states, “This award from ESA is a national recognition of his achievements and a testimony to the SFWS graduate program.”

Among other honors, Kamiljit also received the 2015 Merriwether Fellowship Award from Auburn University, given to the top four outstanding PhD students among all departments at Auburn University.

Says Banger of his time at Auburn University, “I really enjoyed working in the best ecosystem modeling lab in the United States as well as within the supporting environment of SFWS.”

Currently, Dr. Banger works as a Postdoctoral Research Associate at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign to develop decision support tools for controlling nitrogen pollution from midwest agriculture.


Sustainability Picnic 2015 – August 19th at 4:00pm at the Arboretum #AUthrives


EDGE group published its findings on Anthropogenic and climatic controls on soil organic carbon stocks in India in the May-June 2015 issue of the Soil Science Society of America Journal.


Kamaljit Banger, Hanqin Tian, Bo Tao, Chaoqun Lu, Wei Ren and Jia Yang




Rui Malinowski awarded with Distinguished Dissertation Awards

SFWS graduate Rui Xie(Rui Malinowski) has been awarded with Graduate School’s Distinguished Dissertation Awards.

Devkota, John, and Trautwig awarded Graduate Student Thesis/Dissertation Fellowship


Dr. Lori Eckhardt Dr. Robert Gitzen Wildlife Sciences Forestry Auburn University SFWS School of Forestry and Wildlife sciences awards WS

The Graduate School Fellowship Committee has awarded Pratima Devkota and Adam Trautwig a Graduate Student Thesis/Dissertation Fellowship to support their research project. Rebecca John

602 Duncan Drive | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | 334-844-4000 |
| Privacy | Copyright ©