ePortfolio Awards Luncheon Honors Exceptional Students and Faculty

4 student award winners with provost

Award winners pictured with Provost Timothy Boosinger, clockwise from top left: Hallie Nelson, Parker Wade, Jamie McClintock, and Elizabeth Devore.

Published May 8, 2017
Office of University Writing

On May 2, the ePortfolio Project at Auburn University named four Auburn students—Elizabeth Devore, Jamie McClintock, Hallie Nelson, and Parker Wade—as recipients of the Outstanding ePortfolio Award for their exceptional ePortfolios. Winners of this award have demonstrated excellence in creating ePortfolios directed toward the professional audiences in their respective fields.

These students received the honor during the fourth annual ePortfolio Awards Luncheon hosted by Provost Timothy Boosinger and Auburn’s ePortfolio Project. The ePortfolio Project is a campus-wide initiative that offers Auburn students the opportunity to create personal websites that communicate and showcase skills, experiences, and learning. Students can use their sites to contextualize the diverse portfolio of work they have created at Auburn for different audiences.

Earlier this year, the American Association of Colleges and Universities recognized ePortfolios as a High Impact Practice. The university selected ePortfolios as its QEP (Quality Enhancement Plan) in 2013 and has been working with faculty to integrate ePortfolios into the curriculum across disciplines, promoting deeper learning and engagement among students.

A committee of faculty and students reviewed nominations from disciplines across the university and selected the winners based on the four primary learning outcomes of the ePortfolio Project: effective communication, critical thinking through reflection, visual literacy, and technical competence. More than double the number of students were nominated for the award this year as compared to the previous academic year.

Gary Brown Award Winners with Provost

Gary Brown Award winners with Provost Timothy Boosinger, from left to right: Sushil Adhikari, Oladiran Fasina, and Mark Dougherty. Not pictured: Puneet Srivastava and Timothy McDonald.

In addition to honoring students, several Auburn faculty were recognized at the awards luncheon. Biosystems Engineering faculty Sushil Adhikari, Mark Dougherty, Oladiran Fasina, Timothy McDonald, and Puneet Srivastava were presented with the Gary Brown ePortfolio Faculty Cohort Award, which recognizes faculty members who exhibit a spirit of collaboration and joint ownership for implementing ePortfolios. The award is named in honor of Dr. Gary Brown, a national leader in innovative teaching and the use of ePortfolios.

Dr. Richard Burt was also honored for his exemplary service to the ePortfolio Project. “Richard helped shape the [ePortfolio] Project’s infrastructure in ways that have contributed to its success and exhibited patience and persistence in getting the Auburn campus community to understand how ePortfolios offer a valuable learning opportunity for students and faculty alike,” said Provost Boosinger.

Dr. Burt served as chair of the committee that developed the ePortfolio Project and has continued to serve on the ePortfolio Steering Committee. He has been a strong advocate for the ePortfolio Project both in his own college and across campus.

More information about the ePortfolio Project can be found at

Archived Press Releases:

May 9, 2016 – 2016 ePortfolio Awards Luncheon Press Release

May 8, 2015 – 2015 ePortfolio Awards Luncheon Press Release

May 1, 2014 – 2014 ePortfolio Awards Luncheon Press Release

For more information about the ePortfolio Project and how to get involved, click here.