Home » 2016 » March

Monthly Archives: March 2016


Media Contact: Morgan Stashick, stashml@auburn.edu, 334-844-3591


Pradeep Lall, John and Anne MacFarlane professor in Auburn University’s Department of Mechanical Engineering, has received the Wright Gardner Award from the Alabama Academy of Science.

Lall joined the Auburn faculty in 2002 as an associate professor after a successful career at Motorola, where he worked on the development and manufacture of wireless products including cellular phones and two-way radios.  He is best known for his research in the areas of reliability and prognostics for electronic systems operating in harsh environments.  His contributions to the development of methodologies for prognostication of electronics based on leading indicators of failure have been adopted by the automotive industry for development of next generation on-board diagnostic systems.

“I am honored to receive this award and want to thank the Alabama Academy of Science for this recognition,” Lall said. “The award is a testament to the strong research environment at Auburn University which has provided me the opportunity to make a meaningful impact.”

Lall says that his prior experience in the development of manufacturing processes in high-volume environments has enabled him to bring aspects of the electronics manufacturing industry into the classroom and his research at Auburn. Lall serves as director of Auburn’s NSF-CAVE3 Electronics Research Center, which is dedicated to working with industry to develop and implement new technologies for the packaging and manufacturing of electronics.

Lall also leads a national manufacturing effort on harsh environment electronics established at Auburn as part of a U.S. Department of Defense-led flexible hybrid electronics institute called NextFlex.

“Auburn University’s Harsh Environment Node of NextFlex will help catalyze the establishment of a flexible electronics ecosystem in Alabama through the development of technology product demonstrators and workforce training programs to make an impact on the manufacturing economy in Alabama.”

The Wright Gardner Award was established by the Alabama Academy of Science in 1984 to honor individuals whose work during residence in Alabama had been outstanding. Past recipients nominated for this award have included researchers, teachers, industrialists, clinicians, scholars and active members and office bearers of the Alabama Academy of Science.