2021 AWW Annual Meeting Recap

The second Alabama Water Watch Virtual Annual Meeting was a success! Although we weren’t able to meet in person this year, we are thankful to be able to recognize and highlight our volunteers and project partners in a meaningful way.

The meeting kicked off with a fantastic presentation from Dr. Arthur Appel, Interim Director of the Alabama Agricultural Experimental Station, and Urban Entomologist and Insect Physiologist, which covered the current state of affairs at the AU College of Agriculture and included a talk about an invasive, aquatic cockroach!

Following was a presentation by Dr. Eve Brantley, Director of the AU Water Resources Center who discussed the many extension, research, and instructional programs of the WRC, including Alabama Watershed Stewards, a new Private Well Program, and initiatives to promote water related research.

The GLOBE Observer Mosquito Habitat Photo Challenge, an exciting new related project volunteers can get involved with, was presented by Dr. Sarah Zohdy with Auburn University and Dr. Rusty Lowe with NASA GLOBE Observer. Volunteers and monitors are encouraged to participate and can find more information on the GLOBE Observer website or request a copy of the presentation by emailing awwprog@auburn.edu!

In AWW Program Update news, monitors submitted more records in 2020 than in 2019!

AWW Staff were excited to announce that we are back at it again with in-person workshops, and will have more virtual, in-person, and hybrid options available soon.

For full program updates, check out the 2020 AWW Annual Report.

AWW’s Volunteer Monitors and Trainers prevailed through the challenges brought on by 2020 and 2021, and it was an honor to recognize their hard work and dedication during The Caddy’s – AWW’s Annual Awards Ceremony! You can read more about each award winner here: http://wp.auburn.edu/aww/2021-aww-volunteer-awards/

And The 2020-2021 Caddy’s went to…

Janne Debes – Michael Mullen Monitor of the Year Award
Isabella Trussell – Lifetime Achievement Award
Carl Woida – Lone Ranger Award
Gary Wagoner – 100,000th Data Record
Winston and Walker County 4-H – 4-H AWW Team of the Year

The date and location for the 2022 AWW Annual Meeting was also announced:

Thank you to all of our award winners, meeting participants, board members, and community and project partners – you are the backbone of the AWW Program! We are looking forward to another year with you all!

You can request a recording of the AWW Annual Meeting or specific presentations by emailing awwprog@auburn.edu.